Ball settles on top of another ball..

Thread starter #1

DCH

New member
Joined
Sep 28, 2021
Messages
1
My ball in rough settles on top of another (not in play) golf ball…do I get relief or play as it lies?
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
5,294
Location
sarf Lunnon
My ball in rough settles on top of another (not in play) golf ball…do I get relief or play as it lies?
The "other ball" is a moveable obstruction so you get relief. See rule 15.2a (2)
Basically, if your ball is on top of the other ball you get to lift yours, remove the other, then drop yours in the relief area. If the other ball is just near to yours, you can remove the other ball.
 

salfordlad

Active member
Joined
Dec 16, 2020
Messages
155
The "other ball" is a moveable obstruction so you get relief. See rule 15.2a (2)
Basically, if your ball is on top of the other ball you get to lift yours, remove the other, then drop yours in the relief area. If the other ball is just near to yours, you can remove the other ball.
Agree with your key point, but it's a replace scenario (rule 14.2) rather than a drop (14.3) if your ball is moved in the process of getting rid of the movable obstruction.
 

Colin L

Tour Winner
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
4,226
Location
Edinburgh
Agree with your key point, but it's a replace scenario (rule 14.2) rather than a drop (14.3) if your ball is moved in the process of getting rid of the movable obstruction.
Just to clarify for anyone who doesn't follow that in the context of backwoodsman's post:
If your ball is lying on a movable obstruction, you remove the obstruction and drop a ball.
If your ball is lying other than on an obstruction and is moved when you remove an obstruction you must replace your ball.

And, as a reminder, when dropping you may use a different ball but when replacing you must use the original ball (for exceptions, see Rule 14.2a}
 

davemc1

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Nov 24, 2013
Messages
2,812
Location
Liverpool
I had this the other week while out practicing. Slight difference was my ball was lying on an embedded ball in water hazard. Does the same procedure apply?
 

Colin L

Tour Winner
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
4,226
Location
Edinburgh
Yes, you may take relief from a movable obstruction when your ball is in a penalty area. Same rules apply. The relief area must be in the penalty area.
 

salfordlad

Active member
Joined
Dec 16, 2020
Messages
155
Just to clarify for anyone who doesn't follow that in the context of backwoodsman's post:
If your ball is lying on a movable obstruction, you remove the obstruction and drop a ball.
If your ball is lying other than on an obstruction and is moved when you remove an obstruction you must replace your ball.

And, as a reminder, when dropping you may use a different ball but when replacing you must use the original ball (for exceptions, see Rule 14.2a}
Fully agree. An issue with providing more detail, though, is it sometimes increases the need for even more detail.....

The practical question resulting from this "on" versus "other than on" a movable obstruction distinction is how do we treat the OP situation of your ball being on top of another ball. Helpfully, the USGA recently provided the answer on their F/B Rules page, the ruling being that "on" a movable obstruction (requiring a drop if relief is taken) applies when a ball is entirely on the obstruction; but if the ball is in contact with the course and the movable obstruction, it is not considered "on" the movable obstruction and the relief option is to move the movable obstruction and replace the ball (not drop) should your ball move in the process (likely in the OP example).
 
Top