Ball on path which side.

Tashyboy

Please don’t ask to see my tatts 👍
Joined
Dec 12, 2013
Messages
21,559
Visit site
Played today and smashed my first drive down the Lhs of the fairway. It hit a path and trundled up the path for about 40-50 yd. when it came to rest it was 2 ft from the Lhs of the path and 3 ft from the rhs of the path, which is the side it went in from.

Anyway I was playing for the first time with three seasoned/elderly gents and asked them for a correct ruling. They agreed the ball had to be dropped two times on the Lhs of the path, if it rolls back onto the path, after the second drop the ball is placed on the slope. this is what we did, and I was more than happy to go along with this.

However if I had dropped the ball on the rhs of the path no closer to the hole as per original drop I would of had a unrestricted shot to the green. The Free drop I took gave me a restricted swing due to trees. Do you have to place the ball to the nearest side of the path. Cheers everyone.
 
The side it went onto the path from is completely irrelevant.

You establish the 'nearest point of relief' and must drop such that the ball first makes contact with the course within 1 club length of that point.

For a right handed golfer in the situation you outline this is going to be to the left most times.

If if doesn't, you keep dropping until it does.

If it does, you re drop if it rolls and comes to a stop such that the obstruction (path here) interferes, or...loads and loads of other things which can be found in rule 20.
 
Assuming you are right-handed, the Nearest Point of Relief would be just off the left side of the path - and the reverse if you are left-handed.
 
Thankyou very much gents. You confirmed what I had thought. The video is excellent.

I have played before with PPs who have taken the ball back along the line the ball went into or onto the path ( which is why I mentioned it as we are all right handlers and it would of been an advantage ) and then dropped the ball. Sometimes 10 - 30 yd.

look forward to correcting people in future 😁
 
I was led to believe NPR is the side the ball is nearer to, ie if it's 1 foot right of centre then it's the right side within a club length?
 
I was led to believe NPR is the side the ball is nearer to, ie if it's 1 foot right of centre then it's the right side within a club length?

Nope.

Relief includes feet so the equation has to take account of the distance between the toe of the club and back of your heels at address - which will vary with club and shot.

I recommend people get into the habit of marking the NPR on each side of the path and then establishing which is nearer the ball. It's quick, easy and generally obvious if you do it this way. This is especially relevant when the path is angled and wide, such as those crossing a fairway - the automatic reaction is to head to the side that's 'behind it', but this isn't always correct!
 
Always wise to establish NPR before touching the ball. In situations like the OP the best option can sometimes be to play it from the path aiming for position for the next shot.
 
On our 18th we have a fairly narrow path that runs down the left hand side of the hole. To the left of the path you have a thin line of grass or your in the trees/bushes. I understand that the nearest point of relief doesn't mean the nicest point of relief however would the following be okay.

1. Determine that the nearest point of relief (for a right handed golfer) would be on the thin line of grass to the left of the path.
2. The NPR would mean that your stance and swing wouldn't be ideal given you'd be standing in trees/bushes trying to get the club onto the ball.
3. Once NPR is marked, I can then take a drop within one clubs length.
4. Question is, can I drop the ball on the other side of the path i.e. back onto light rough and no issues with swing if this point is within one clubs length of the originally marked NPR?
 
On our 18th we have a fairly narrow path that runs down the left hand side of the hole. To the left of the path you have a thin line of grass or your in the trees/bushes. I understand that the nearest point of relief doesn't mean the nicest point of relief however would the following be okay.

1. Determine that the nearest point of relief (for a right handed golfer) would be on the thin line of grass to the left of the path.
2. The NPR would mean that your stance and swing wouldn't be ideal given you'd be standing in trees/bushes trying to get the club onto the ball.
3. Once NPR is marked, I can then take a drop within one clubs length.
4. Question is, can I drop the ball on the other side of the path i.e. back onto light rough and no issues with swing if this point is within one clubs length of the originally marked NPR?

Thats fine in principle.

However I struggle to understand how you would end up such that the path doesn't interfere with you stance (which is, I suspect, the point Bob is raising). When the ball is dropped within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, the ball must first strike a part of the course at a spot that avoids interference by the immovable obstruction (and interference includes stance)...ie you can't drop it close to the path in the hope it will roll away into a position that enables you to take a stance without being on the path.
 
Bob/Duncan, you've both spotted the fatal flaw in my query! I'd forgotten about that fact that it's complete relief and whilst it's a thin path it wouldn't be enough that I wouldn't have at least half a foot on it!! :) Thanks for the answers.
 
Everyday's a school day, new knowledge gained.
One question please, understand NPR, but is it only if you have a stance, ie, if there is a small strip of grass with a row of trees or wall behind the grass and yes you could drop the ball but had no stance, is this still the NPR.
Understand it doesn't have to give a clear shot or a full stroke, but how much of a stroke is deemed playable?
 
Everyday's a school day, new knowledge gained.
One question please, understand NPR, but is it only if you have a stance, ie, if there is a small strip of grass with a row of trees or wall behind the grass and yes you could drop the ball but had no stance, is this still the NPR.
Understand it doesn't have to give a clear shot or a full stroke, but how much of a stroke is deemed playable?

Yes, it is still NPR. NPR is what it is - it doesn't necessarily allow you to have a stance of any kind.

Note that from the definitions it says it is the point where, if the ball were so positioned, no interference by the condition from which relief is sought would exist for the stroke the player would have made from the original position if the condition were not there. It doesn't mention anything about not being obstructed by anything else. Have a look at decision 24-2b/3.7 which has a good diagram.
 
Following on from my previous reference to the diagram in decision 24-2b/3.7 - a question for those more knowledgable than me...

Ball lies on a path. NPR is on narrow strip of grass between path and say some shrubbery. Ball is dropped in a correct manner between NPR and shrubs. A shot towards the hole is now not viable because of shrubs impeding stance. Only viable shot is now backwards - which means your stance is back on path. I assume you get another go at free relief? But if yes, i presume most likely scenario is that NPR would be even deeper in shrubs?

But if it was a boundary wall, rather than shrubs, then am i right in thinking that the new NPR could easily be on the "good" side of the path (which when the 1 cl drop and possible 2cl roll are taken into account, could then give a shot at the green) Is this all allowable?
 
Top