Ball on green

chrisd

Major Champion
Joined
Sep 22, 2009
Messages
25,082
Location
Kent
Visit site
Just to be sure if I got this right

We were playing pairs betterballs stableford and one of our fc's left his marker behind his ball on the putting surface, his pp asked why and the answer was "if the wind blows the ball away I can replace it as it's marked"

I suggested that was not correct as it was marked but not lifted, and if the wind blew the ball away he'd have to play it from where it comes to rest as marking is used when a moved ball has to be replaced and you don't replace a ball in the event that wind moves it

Right or Wrong?
 
20-4/1

Ball Replaced on Putting Green But Ball-Marker Not Removed; Ball Then Moves

Q.A player replaces his ball on the putting green but does not remove his ball-marker. Subsequently the wind moves his ball to a new position. What is the ruling?

A.Under Rule 20-4, a ball is in play when it is replaced, whether or not the object used to mark its position has been removed. Consequently the ball must be played from the new position – see Decision 18-1/12.
 
20-4/1

Ball Replaced on Putting Green But Ball-Marker Not Removed; Ball Then Moves

Q.A player replaces his ball on the putting green but does not remove his ball-marker. Subsequently the wind moves his ball to a new position. What is the ruling?

A.Under Rule 20-4, a ball is in play when it is replaced, whether or not the object used to mark its position has been removed. Consequently the ball must be played from the new position – see Decision 18-1/12.

Spot on, cheers!
 
Just to be sure if I got this right

We were playing pairs betterballs stableford and one of our fc's left his marker behind his ball on the putting surface, his pp asked why and the answer was "if the wind blows the ball away I can replace it as it's marked"

I suggested that was not correct as it was marked but not lifted, and if the wind blew the ball away he'd have to play it from where it comes to rest as marking is used when a moved ball has to be replaced and you don't replace a ball in the event that wind moves it

Right or Wrong?


So he just plopped down his marker behind the ball and left them both there?
 
Top