Ball in bunker lost

Tashyboy

Please don’t ask to see my tatts 👍
Joined
Dec 12, 2013
Messages
21,534
Visit site
Listening to the lads in the 19 th arguing over this one which ended up in a stalemate.

one of the lads ended up in a green side bunker off his tee shot on a par three, with his second shot he thinned it which ended up with ball flying over green into trees and it could not be found. He went back to the bunker and dropped his ball and played onto the green. When this was mentioned in the 19th an argument ensued where others said you cannot play a drop in a bunker and have to go back to the tee where your previous shot was played.

Me I kept out of it. What's the ruling when losing a ball out of a bunker please.
 
Tell the lads it isn't rocket science. Just read the rule: the player must play a ball, under penalty of one stroke, as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played.
 
Well! That's a 'myth' I hadn't heard before!

Drop in the Bunker - as per AF's red text!

Where the heck did they get the daft idea that you can't?!
 
Like Fox, a totally new myth to me and I'd be wondering how such an argument would end in stalemate as you hope that someone would have a basic grip of the rules
 
Here's a way to really mess with their minds. Tell them that before the penalty ball is dropped the player can smooth the drop area and remove loose impediments to his heart's content.
 
What surprised me was that the person who allegedly said you cannot drop in the bunker was lets say one who you would have lessons off and plays off scratch without naming names
 
What surprised me was that the person who allegedly said you cannot drop in the bunker was lets say one who you would have lessons off and plays off scratch without naming names

That would be no surprise to me at all! The Rules is not generally one of their areas of 'particular expertise'! At one old club, the Barman was generally as knowledgeable and, in one case, significantly more so - being a qualified Rules Official! Pros do tend to be a good source for a copy of The Rules though.
 
Last edited:
Here's a way to really mess with their minds. Tell them that before the penalty ball is dropped the player can smooth the drop area and remove loose impediments to his heart's content.
Seriously- I have cleared LI from under trees prior to taking drop, but assumed that I couldn't "prepare" the area in a bunker
 
Read the first para of 13-4 very carefully.

Except as provided in the Rules, before making a stroke at a ball that is in a hazard (whether a bunker or a water hazard) or that, having been lifted from a hazard, may be dropped or placed in the hazard, the player must not:
a. Test the condition of the hazard or any similar hazard;
b. Touch the ground in the hazard or water in the water hazard with his hand or a club; or
c. Touch or move a loose impediment lying in or touching the hazard.


Ball insn't in hazard at this point , but it's going to be dropped in it
 
Read the first para of 13-4 very carefully.

Just done that - and am not disagreeing, but I'm not seeing it. Grateful if you could clarify. Not seeing why the "creating or eliminating irregularities" in the "area in which he is to drop" of 13-2 don't come into play ( or perhaps why 13-4 nullifies them)
 
Just done that - and am not disagreeing, but I'm not seeing it. Grateful if you could clarify.

Except as provided in the Rules, before making a stroke at a ball that is in a hazard (it's not in the hazard)

(whether a bunker or a water hazard) or that, having been lifted from a hazard, (it hasn't been lifted from a hazard)

may be dropped or placed in the
hazard, the player must not: ......
 
Top