Ball ID

Shaunmg

Head Pro
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
392
Location
St.Helens
Visit site
An interesting situation occurred in weekly club comp on Saturday. I drove off and another member of our 4 ball hit his drive within a couple of feet from mine.

We couldn't say for certain who's ball was who's without checking ID mark.

Jimmy say's "this is mine Calloway with an S under name". No that's mine I say, that's my ball and my mark. Calloway hex control, with S for Shaun, your name is Jimmy. It turned out, he had found a ball I had lost on a previous day and was playing with it.

So what do we do? I played the ball I was fairly confident but not absolutely sure was the one I hit. Jimmy gave me my ball back and played another

How many rules were broken and who broke them? Neither of us was in the frame for winning anything, by the way
 
Why players don't I'd their balls (playing) before and during comp is beyond me. The odd time I act as starter I insist players ID their balls and confirm any identifying marks that they are going to use to avoid any confusion.
 
I think that both balls would be lost and its back to the tee hitting your 3rd shots with a ball you can identify ....
 
I would say you then played the wrong ball which is a 2 shot pen, then failed to correct the error so I would think its DQ?
 
Why players don't I'd their balls (playing) before and during comp is beyond me. The odd time I act as starter I insist players ID their balls and confirm any identifying marks that they are going to use to avoid any confusion.

I played in an open in Lough Erne and the starter tried this , one of the guys in the group told him to mind his own business it was not a rule and it had nothing to do with him ..
rest of us were shocked at his attitude .. turned out he was an ok guy after , which was more surprising


Back to the OP

We couldn't say for certain who's ball was who's without checking ID mark

It turned out, he had found a ball I had lost on a previous day and was playing with it.


Both back to the tee i would say , if you cant identify your ball it IMO would be deemed lost as such .. just MY opinion tho ,

if ye played on, i dont think there is any way you could confirm if ye had played the right ball's or not, then i think it would be DQ
 
Last edited:
Why players don't I'd their balls (playing) before and during comp is beyond me. The odd time I act as starter I insist players ID their balls and confirm any identifying marks that they are going to use to avoid any confusion.

I played in an open in Lough Erne and the starter tried this , one of the guys in the group told him to mind his own business it was not a rule and it had nothing to do with him ..
rest of us were shocked at his attitude .. turned out he was an ok guy after , which was more surprising

Isn't it peculiar that folk who would be quite civil to each other elsewhere suddenly 'turn nasty' on a Golf course!

He was correct that it was none of your business and to insist would be wrong. By all means make a suggestion though! I have seen several instances of same ball/different marking!

As to the OP. Both balls are Lost - there's a Decision (27/10) about exactly this situation.
 
Last edited:
I played in an open in Lough Erne and the starter tried this , one of the guys in the group told him to mind his own business it was not a rule and it had nothing to do with him ..
rest of us were shocked at his attitude .. turned out he was an ok guy after , which was more surprising


Back to the OP




Both back to the tee i would say , if you cant identify your ball it IMO would be deemed lost as such .. just MY opinion tho ,

if ye played on, i dont think there is any way you could confirm if ye had played the right ball's or not, then i think it would be DQ

Don't speculate, investigate.

27/10


Player Unable to Distinguish His Ball from Another Ball


Q.A and B hit their tee shots into the same area. Both balls were found but, because A and B were playing identical balls and neither had put an identification mark on his ball, they could not determine which ball was A's and which was B's. What is the ruling?


A.Since neither player could identify a ball as his ball, both balls were lost – see Definition of "Lost Ball."

This incident underlines the advisability of the player putting an identification mark on his ball – see Rules 6-5 and 12-2.
 
Why players don't I'd their balls (playing) before and during comp is beyond me. The odd time I act as starter I insist players ID their balls and confirm any identifying marks that they are going to use to avoid any confusion.

I would just highlight that this doesn't really resolve the issue completely - Player B may start with ball X markings Y but could have used any number of different ones by the end of the round! Whilst it would be good practice to announce what you are putting into play each time it may well be that not all players are present each time you have to do it.

Agree it's a good starting point, but ultimately the real issue in in any player being able to definitely identify their ball by reference to all the markings on it, pre-printed or otherwise - the end.
 
Did the other fella actually hand you back your lost ball and put another down to play out the hole?

Yes he did and I knew he was in breach of rules, but I didn't make an issue of it, as he and I were well out of contention in a non qualifying comp anyway, so why risk upsetting him. But I fail to see how I could do anything else to ID my own ball. The ball I played had my ID mark. how could I know he had found and was playing previously lost ball of mine. I would have thought he was at fault but not me.
 
Yes he did and I knew he was in breach of rules, but I didn't make an issue of it, as he and I were well out of contention in a non qualifying comp anyway, so why risk upsetting him. But I fail to see how I could do anything else to ID my own ball. The ball I played had my ID mark. how could I know he had found and was playing previously lost ball of mine. I would have thought he was at fault but not me.

You were both equally at fault.

By announcing the Ball and Id, it should spark a query when someone else makes/would make exactly the same announcement!

Highly unusual though!
 
You were both equally at fault.

By announcing the Ball and Id, it should spark a query when someone else makes/would make exactly the same announcement!

Highly unusual though!


On this I would disagree Fox. I can't see how Shaun can be in anyway "at fault" although I accept that the ruling is to be applied as already stated.

And, as unusual as his circumstance are, I once played in consecutive games when different players played a ball of mine each had found! It probably says more about my game than anything though!
 
On this I would disagree Fox. I can't see how Shaun can be in anyway "at fault" although I accept that the ruling is to be applied as already stated.

Through (very mild and accidental) negligence. By not announcing/checking that there was no clash.
 
Top