Ball hits tee marker

PJerrum

Newbie
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
2
Visit site
During a monthly medal on the weekend, one of my playing partners thinned his tee shot and it hit the ladies tee marker and shot back into thick rough. He said that he could tee off again without penalty. Was he correct?
 
No. A tee marker for another teeing ground is simply a movable obstruction and outside agency, like a marker stake.
Hitting it is a true 'rub of the green'. Play the ball from where it finishes.

Did he show you the rule?
 
No he did not show me the rule. It had never happened since I have been playing, so I took his word for it as I was not sure on the rule myslef. I know if it happens again now. Thanks
 
No he did not show me the rule. It had never happened since I have been playing, so I took his word for it as I was not sure on the rule myslef. I know if it happens again now. Thanks

More to the point, will you be pointing out the truth to the guy who claimed there was no penalty?
 
During a monthly medal on the weekend, one of my playing partners thinned his tee shot and it hit the ladies tee marker and shot back into thick rough. He said that he could tee off again without penalty. Was he correct?

Saw that happen at our club once in a midweek medal. One of the guys in the group in front of us thinned it into the marker and it rebounded over his head and out of bounds. The watching crowd were laughing their heads off but the guy on the tee didn't seem to see the funny side:)
 
This has just made me remember playing with the president I smashed a driver into the tee bocks in front and back it came at a rate of knots and just went through his legs and missed his bo***cks by millimetres. Its a good job he jumped. :o
 
Saw that happen at our club once in a midweek medal. One of the guys in the group in front of us thinned it into the marker and it rebounded over his head and out of bounds. The watching crowd were laughing their heads off but the guy on the tee didn't seem to see the funny side:)

It happened to a guy in our swindle the other week, he was the last to play and the other 3 of us were quite close. My last words to him were "no pressure Jim". It was playing about 129yds, he played his 2nd from about 155yds in thick rough. To his credit, he nearly made par (after we'd all picked ourselves up off the floor of course)
 
Top