Ball falls off tee and player 'breaks the plane'

SwingsitlikeHogan

Major Champion
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
35,053
Visit site
FC yesterday - tee shot - addresses ball and as he takes club away ball falls off the tee - he relaxes but continues his swing into a half swing and gently swishes club past the ball as it sits on the ground. Ruling please?
 
It comes down to FC intent. If there was no intent to strike the ball, it is not a stroke and the ball can be re-teed. Comes down to bit of personal integrity really as difficult for anyone else other than FC to really decide whether the intent was there but in this situation where only a half swing was taken seems clear to all.
 
If it was an intentional swing at the ball then it's an airstrike and counts, if he deliberately tried to miss then it's not.

I suspect he didnt try and hit the ball in your instance so IMO it should be no penalty

At least thats how I interpret the ruling.
 
FC yesterday - tee shot - addresses ball and as he takes club away ball falls off the tee - he relaxes but continues his swing into a half swing and gently swishes club past the ball as it sits on the ground. Ruling please?

For me the ball is not in play so no penalty, its not an air shot if the ball fell off the tee and he then casually follows through his swing.
 
FC yesterday - tee shot - addresses ball and as he takes club away ball falls off the tee - he relaxes but continues his swing into a half swing and gently swishes club past the ball as it sits on the ground. Ruling please?

does this even need a ruling- pretty obvious he didnt make his 'normal' swing at the ball.

Please tell me you chaps didnt all discuss it and couldnt agree?:rolleyes:
 
does this even need a ruling- pretty obvious he didnt make his 'normal' swing at the ball.

Please tell me you chaps didnt all discuss it and couldnt agree?:rolleyes:

Oh I bet he got his white coat out of his bag quickly followed by the rule book and an array of coloured pens :smirk:
 
Dont forget that someone in the group has to call out "one"
 
From the Definitions.....

A "stroke" is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if a player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball he has not made a stroke.

Doesn't seem to have made a stroke to me!
 
If it had been against an disliked opponent on the first hole of the final of the club scratch KO, it would most certainly have been a deliberate stroke.:o

Would you not hav trusted your opponent if he said it wasn't deliberate ?
 
He clearly didn't intend to hit the ball and neither I nor other FC raised it - and not for one moment did I think 'rule break' - but just on reflection I was just wondering as he did 'break the plane' and swing past the ball.
 
Top