Ball embedded in water hazard

upsidedown

Tour Winner
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
6,000
Location
Shropshire
Visit site
This happened to a fellow competitor today and he assumed you could take relief within the hazard for the embedded ball.

He claimed he could lift but not clean and then drop as near as possible. This he did but the ball rolled into the water so he then dropped again for it to drop into the water again and so then placed it.

I said I don't think you can get relief for it going into the water as you are already in the hazard and you have to play it as it lies.Not sure at the time if you could get relief for embedded ball in hazard and believe that is the case , yes ?

Thoughts oh great rules Guru's
 
free relief because its embedded? in a hazard? really? Once hes in the hazard hes in the hazard and if he wants any "relief" then he can take a penalty drop
 
No free relief.

The general rule for embedded balls (25/2) applies to closely mown areas through the green. The available local rule can be applied to all areas througn the green. Hazards are excluded from the definition of through the green. Embedded ball in a hazard - lump it I'm afraid.
 
After his first drop he could have corrected the error by either replacing the ball at the cost of penalty stroke [R18-2] and playing it or dropping outside the water hazard in accordance with R26 with one penalty stroke (no 18-2 penalty).

But he didn't. In my view, his drop, the further drop and then placing are actions through applying one inapplicable rule and so I would reckon on penalising him only once. In the end he played from a wrong place - two penalty strokes and carry on. I can't see a serious breach.
 
I said I don't think you can get relief for it going into the water as you are already in the hazard and you have to play it as it lies.Not sure at the time if you could get relief for embedded ball in hazard and believe that is the case , yes ?

Thoughts oh great rules Guru's

Your thought processes re his redrop were correct. If it was permitted there would have been no basis for a redrop.

As others have explained, relief under 25-2 is not available in a hazard.
 
After his first drop he could have corrected the error by either replacing the ball at the cost of penalty stroke [R18-2] and playing it or dropping outside the water hazard in accordance with R26 with one penalty stroke (no 18-2 penalty).

But he didn't. In my view, his drop, the further drop and then placing are actions through applying one inapplicable rule and so I would reckon on penalising him only once. In the end he played from a wrong place - two penalty strokes and carry on. I can't see a serious breach.
I agree that he has proceeded under an unapplicable Rule. The only Rule that can be assigned to his actions is Rule 26-1 (water hazards). He has played from a wrong place under that Rule, incurs a two stroke penalty for doing so, plus the one stroke penalty under Rule 26-1.
 
LOL, he's been watching too much pro golf with those guys getting a free drop from all parts.:rofl::rofl:

Nope in a hazzard, tough titties, you are in a hazzard.
 
Top