Ball deflected into hole

drdel

Tour Rookie
Joined
Aug 28, 2013
Messages
4,374
Visit site
Ok happened today.

One ball is stationary on the green - the competitor who is off the green hits his ball which hits the ball on the green and is deflected into the hole.

Competitor claims he has holed out for 1, incurs no penalty and wins hole.

Over to the experts...
 
Ok happened today.

One ball is stationary on the green - the competitor who is off the green hits his ball which hits the ball on the green and is deflected into the hole.

Competitor claims he has holed out for 1, incurs no penalty and wins hole.

Over to the experts...
In strokeplay if A's ball hits B's, B's is replaced with no penalty.
Matchplay? Dunno
 
Ok happened today.

One ball is stationary on the green - the competitor who is off the green hits his ball which hits the ball on the green and is deflected into the hole.

Competitor claims he has holed out for 1, incurs no penalty and wins hole.

Over to the experts...

Simple one. What ever the format the ball is played as it lies from where ever it ends up. In this case it is holed so happy days. No penalty.

The ball that did the deflection would need to be replaced if it has moved.

Only a penalty in stroke play if both balls where on the green. As the ball was played from off the green there would be no penalty.

Rule 19-5 Ball in motion deflected or stopped by another ball.
Rule 18-5 Ball at Rest moved by another ball.
 
Last edited:
Ok happened today.

One ball is stationary on the green - the competitor who is off the green hits his ball which hits the ball on the green and is deflected into the hole.

Competitor claims he has holed out for 1, incurs no penalty and wins hole.

Over to the experts...

I'm now confused.
Who hit whom and which ball went in hole?
 
Ok happened today.

One ball is stationary on the green (A) - the competitor who is off the green hits his ball (B) which hits the ball (A) on the green and (A or B) is deflected into the hole.

Competitor claims he has holed out for 1, incurs no penalty and wins hole.

Over to the experts...

I'm now confused.
Who hit whom and which ball went in hole?

Good spot Mimms.

If A is deflected into the hole then it is replaced and B is played as it lies.

If B was deflected into the hole then is counts as holed and A needs to be replaced.

Penalties only apply if A is not replaced in both cases.
 
What happens if the shot to the green is blind (over a sand dune or hill) and nobody witnesses the deflection?


How the heck will you know it's deflected ?!

You just play your ball as you see it
 
Why the confusion? Only a moving ball can be deflected.

Darn you and your proper use of words Colin!

What is the right word for a stationary ball? Moved?

Lol. The confusion is with way the OP is worded and I apologise for the incorrect use of deflection related to a stationary ball.

Anyway the OP is isn't clear which ball went into the hole but rereading again the reference of competitor as the person who made the stroke and claimed the ball as holed would indicate that the moving ball was deflected into the hole rather than the stationary ball being moved into the hole. In which case post 3 should be enough to answer it.
 
What happens if the shot to the green is blind (over a sand dune or hill) and nobody witnesses the deflection?


Troll_204c19_1264966.jpg
 
Lol. The confusion is with way the OP is worded and I apologise for the incorrect use of deflection related to a stationary ball.

Anyway the OP is isn't clear which ball went into the hole but rereading again the reference of competitor as the person who made the stroke and claimed the ball as holed would indicate that the moving ball was deflected into the hole rather than the stationary ball being moved into the hole. In which case post 3 should be enough to answer it.

If you read my post exactly as it is written I think it is clear from the words used which ball does what, anyway here's it is slightly expanded.

A ball (A) is on the green - it is stationary (obviously it cannot be 'deflected' as it ain't moving). The competitor who is off the green hits his ball (B) which is deflected into the hole by the impact with the stationary ball (A) which moves to one side. Ball (B) hits the pin and drops into the hole.

The player of ball (A) claims a single put; the player of ball (B) plays the ball as it lies and holes out, the pin having now been removed.

The reason for raising it is two of my fellow players argued about whether the ball on the green (B) should have been lifted but my view was because the player of ball (A) was off the green he had the option to have (B) lifted but didn't have to take it and alos the pin could remain in position - hence the no penalties to both players.
 
If you read my post exactly as it is written I think it is clear from the words used which ball does what, anyway here's it is slightly expanded.

A ball (A) is on the green - it is stationary (obviously it cannot be 'deflected' as it ain't moving). The competitor who is off the green hits his ball (B) which is deflected into the hole by the impact with the stationary ball (A) which moves to one side. Ball (B) hits the pin and drops into the hole.

The player of ball (A) claims a single put; the player of ball (B) plays the ball as it lies and holes out, the pin having now been removed.

The reason for raising it is two of my fellow players argued about whether the ball on the green (B) should have been lifted but my view was because the player of ball (A) was off the green he had the option to have (B) lifted but didn't have to take it and alos the pin could remain in position - hence the no penalties to both players.

That clears it up then - no confusion.

I really enjoy Saturday nights.
 
Top