Attached divot

Whereditgo

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
2,459
Location
East Yorkshire, UK
Visit site
Player duffs his lob wedge so badly that he lifts a clod of turf at the back of the ball and missed the ball completely. The raised turf, which is still attached to the ground, folded upwards for want of a better description, will now restrict the club's path to the ball, can the player press the turf back down to clear the path to the ball?
 
Im sure the people in the know will confirm it for you , if i was asked to call it i would say its play it as it lies tho , if the divot had become detached from the ground it would be ok once you didnt move the ball
 
Decision 13-2/5 is the closest applicable that I can see - and that doesn't allow the 'divot' to be replaced.

So play as it lies or take an unplayable imo.
 
I landed in a divot like that a while ago and attempted to play it I nearly broke my wrist and the ball ended up in the rough a few yards away. I should have declared it unplayable.:mad:.
 
Player duffs his lob wedge so badly that he lifts a clod of turf at the back of the ball and missed the ball completely. The raised turf, which is still attached to the ground, folded upwards for want of a better description, will now restrict the club's path to the ball, can the player press the turf back down to clear the path to the ball?

In a word, no. You would be breaching Rule 13-2 as you would be improving the lie or area of your intended swing by moving something that is growing.
If the divot were completely detached, you could remove it as it is a loose impediment, but you could not replace it as that would also be improving your lie or area of intended swing.
 
Top