Are 'professionally' written CV's worth it?

bluewolf

Money List Winner
Visit site
I can't speak for all professions, but when a CV hits my desk, I prefer it to be concise, typed, grammatically correct and most importantly for me, personally done. I hate it when I get a CV that contains nothing but flowery prose about your recent achievement of hiking the coast to coast with your mates. Make it relevant in the main, with a bit about yourself. Make me want to meet you. I don't really want to meet people who aren't even confident enough to draft their own CV.

FYI, I work in the manufacturing industry, so we like to call a spade a spade. If you are looking to get into something more office based, then flower it up all you want. Middle managers seem to love terms like "root to branch", "crystallization" and "touching base".:D

DCB

Visit site
Haven't used one myself, but I've seen some of the ones that people have paid money for. They were robbed !

Hobbit

Mordorator
Visit site
If you are capable of doing your own, do so. If you get an interview and you and your character, including how you speak, doesn't match your CV it will show like a flashing beacon and you'll get no further.

I've seen 1,000's of CV's, and done 100's of interviews. Concise without flowery prose means you are a direct individual, but waffle means you will turn a 20min job into a full hour.

Start with a brief personal statement. Then qualifications. Then job history, in reverse order, most recent/current first. Then hobbies/past times. Be truthful, e.g. don't say you are an avid mountain climber if you're not. Whenever I'm interveiwing a candidate I research everything including their past times. You'd be amazed at the stunts candidates try and pull

Jay Gee

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Make it relevant in the main, with a bit about yourself. Make me want to meet you. :D