And one we got wrong...

Whereditgo

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Mar 24, 2009
Messages
2,459
Location
East Yorkshire, UK
Visit site
Ball tee'd up and just as the player starts his down swing the ball is blown off the tee and the club completely misses the ball. A bit of a discussion took place on whether or not there was any penalty to apply, the consensus was that as the ball wasn't in play then all was good, but one of the group wasn't convinced and so we agreed to note the actual strokes taken thereafter and raise the issue with others post round.

The 'committee of wise men' agreed that, as the ball was not in play then the number of strokes taken from when the ball was put in play should be used, all good except:


11-3 - Ball Falling off Tee

If a ball, when not in play, falls off a tee or is knocked off a tee by the player in addressing it, it may be re-teed, without penalty. However, if a stroke is made at the ball in these circumstances, whether the ball is moving or not, the stroke counts, but there is no penalty.


The stroke appeared to have been completed, but could the player have claimed to have 'pulled out' of the stroke? would that be purely down to having to take his word? - for clarity, there is no suggestion here that the player involved would have done anything other than be totally honest and the result has been announced :D
 
There is no penalty either way, the stroke counts though unless the player checked his stroke.

The correct decision may have been arrived at, but the wrong logic was used to get there!
 
Last edited:
As ye agreed the ball was not in play , did he re tee it ?

If it was not in play its ok to re tee it.

If the stroke counts the ball must be in play , therefore he cant re tee it .. can he ?

I dont know the answer to this by the way & i would have (incorrectly so) said ball was not in play in the original scenario aswell
 
Ball tee'd up and just as the player starts his down swing the ball is blown off the tee and the club completely misses the ball. A bit of a discussion took place on whether or not there was any penalty to apply, the consensus was that as the ball wasn't in play then all was good, but one of the group wasn't convinced and so we agreed to note the actual strokes taken thereafter and raise the issue with others post round.

The 'committee of wise men' agreed that, as the ball was not in play then the number of strokes taken from when the ball was put in play should be used, all good except:


11-3 - Ball Falling off Tee

If a ball, when not in play, falls off a tee or is knocked off a tee by the player in addressing it, it may be re-teed, without penalty. However, if a stroke is made at the ball in these circumstances, whether the ball is moving or not, the stroke counts, but there is no penalty.


The stroke appeared to have been completed, but could the player have claimed to have 'pulled out' of the stroke? would that be purely down to having to take his word? - for clarity, there is no suggestion here that the player involved would have done anything other than be totally honest and the result has been announced :D

This clearly wasn't the Ping Team at Gainsborough then - you'd have struggled to have found enough wise men to perform a nativity play let alone sort a rules infringement! :smirk:
 
As ye agreed the ball was not in play , did he re tee it ?

If it was not in play its ok to re tee it.

If the stroke counts the ball must be in play , therefore he cant re tee it .. can he ?

I dont know the answer to this by the way & i would have (incorrectly so) said ball was not in play in the original scenario aswell

The ball was re tee'd.

I'm unsure whether or not the ball could be re tee'd if we had agreed that the stroke had been made, and I can't seem to find anything in the Rules to clarify either way :confused:

And you're right Chris, it was the Ping team.....perhaps that in itself should have rung alarm bells! :rofl:
 
If a "stroke" was made (a forward motion of the club in an attempt to hit the ball) then the ball is in play, whether or not connection is made i.e. "air shot/whiff". No penalty and second shot is at the ball as it lies.

I think:mmm:
 
If a "stroke" was made (a forward motion of the club in an attempt to hit the ball) then the ball is in play, whether or not connection is made i.e. "air shot/whiff". No penalty and second shot is at the ball as it lies.

I think:mmm:

I had someone run over from a nearby tee a few weeks ago and asked the same question - lucky my answer was correct then
 
If a "stroke" was made (a forward motion of the club in an attempt to hit the ball) then the ball is in play, whether or not connection is made i.e. "air shot/whiff". No penalty and second shot is at the ball as it lies.

I think:mmm:


Yes. The stroke puts the ball into play. Actually hitting the ball is a bonus.

The ball was re tee'd.

I'm unsure whether or not the ball could be re tee'd if we had agreed that the stroke had been made, and I can't seem to find anything in the Rules to clarify either way :confused:

Do you really need a specific reference to know that you can't just pick up your ball in play and pop it up on a tee? :)

But if you do want the reference it is Rule 18-2. 1 stroke penalty for moving your ball in play, turning into a two stroke penalty for not replacing it and thus playing from a wrong place.
 
Last edited:
Yes. The stroke puts the ball into play. Actually hitting the ball is a bonus.



Do you really need a specific reference to know that you can't just pick up your ball in play and pop it up on a tee? :)

But if you do want the reference it is Rule 18-2. 1 stroke penalty for moving your ball in play, turning into a two stroke penalty for not replacing it and thus playing from a wrong place.

Quick question.

If the ball is simply placed back on the tee is this not regarded as playing under stroke and distance as per Rule 27-1?

Ah here we go. Would this apply?

Decision 18-2a/2 Ball Falling Off Tee When Stroke Just Touches It Is Picked Up and Re-Teed
 
Yes. The stroke puts the ball into play. Actually hitting the ball is a bonus.



Do you really need a specific reference to know that you can't just pick up your ball in play and pop it up on a tee? :)

But if you do want the reference it is Rule 18-2. 1 stroke penalty for moving your ball in play, turning into a two stroke penalty for not replacing it and thus playing from a wrong place.

Good point - really should try to concentrate on one thing at a time i.e. work when at work!
 
Quick question.

If the ball is simply placed back on the tee is this not regarded as playing under stroke and distance as per Rule 27-1?

Ah here we go. Would this apply?

Decision 18-2a/2 Ball Falling Off Tee When Stroke Just Touches It Is Picked Up and Re-Teed

Yes. Thanks for picking this up. It's so annoying when you know something perfectly well but then forget it when you need it.
 
Good point - really should try to concentrate on one thing at a time i.e. work when at work!

And I should concentrate more as well. As you see above, MashieNiblick has reminded me that in this particular situation, Rule 27-1 (stroke and distance) supersedes Rule 18-2 and so just a one stroke penalty.
 
Top