Am I Overthinking Things?!!?

YesEvil

Visit site
Hi,

Newbie to the forum just after some advice/reassurance/words of wisdom!!!!

I have been playing now for about 18 months and have had 3 lessons (can't afford anymore at the min due to impending arrival of a baby!). At first my lessons really helped, I was getting great loft on the ball and distance wasn’t too bad, my scores weren’t coming down but that didn’t really bother me as I was striking the ball better than I ever had.

A few more months down the line and my scores have got worse!! Regularly play a par 3 course nearby (par 27) and had been shooting between 39-43 which I was pleased with, but past few times has been in the mid high 50's. Can’t get any loft on the ball, sometimes take too much ground or the ball flies off the heel of the club.
My pitching is terrible and just cannot get comfortable over the ball at all. The only area of my game that has remained consistent is my putting, which is generally very good.

The main things I was told to concentrate on during my lessons were:
  1. Having the ball further back in my stance
  2. Having the handle of the club further forward (so it is over the ball if you are looking head on)
  3. Adjusting my weight so it is 60/40 in favour of the front leg.
  4. Having the handle of the club inline with the belt buckle area.
  5. Finally – making sure that my arms stay attached to my torso (if that makes sense!) so that I swing round rather than up.
Now I try to do this on every swing but rarely hit the ball like I did after my lessons. This is starting to really frustrate me and I often wonder why I bother playing.