Addessing the ball in the rough

cleanstrike

Assistant Pro
Joined
Nov 5, 2013
Messages
226
Location
Plymouth, Devon
Visit site
Hope someone can put me right on this one please.

I know that when you address the ball in a bunker, you're not allowed to touch the sand with the club before you begin your stroke. If I'm in the ordinary rough is the club head allowed touch the grass behind the ball on the address or is it a similar rule to hazard play?
 
Hope someone can put me right on this one please.

I know that when you address the ball in a bunker, you're not allowed to touch the sand with the club before you begin your stroke. If I'm in the ordinary rough is the club head allowed touch the grass behind the ball on the address or is it a similar rule to hazard play?

You can touch the ground in the rough mate ( unless it's marked as a hazard )
 
But you mustn't press the club down on the grass to get a good view of the back of the ball. It must lie with just its own weight.
 
just to add some caution to the good advice already given, be careful the ball doesn't move when your club moves the longer grass, easily done.........apparently:whistle:
 
Last edited:
Top