Accidentally move ball marker 20-1

woody69

Journeyman Pro
Joined
Sep 7, 2012
Messages
2,676
Visit site
I've done this once before and I have seen it happen a couple. What would you do in this situation.

You are on the green and you correctly place your marker and lift your ball. You get up and before walking away you give it a tap down with the sole of your putter, but as you lift the putter, probably due to a bit of moisture it lifts your marker and drops down off your spot.

Now rule 20-1 Lifting and Marking states:

If a ball or ball-marker is accidentally moved in the process of lifting the ball under a Rule or marking its position, the ball or ball-marker must be replaced. There is no penalty, provided the movement of the ball or ball-marker is directly attributable to the specific act of marking the position of or lifting the ball. Otherwise, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke under this Rule or Rule 18-2a.

To me this wording could be interpreted one of 2 ways. A player could try to suggest that tapping the marker down is part of the specific act of marking the position of their ball, where as others will argue that it isn't. If it was to happen in a comp you were playing would you argue it was a one stoke penalty or let it go?
 
I'd let it go as there is a specific decision about it that I've already read ;)


20-1/6 Ball-Marker Moved Accidentally by Player in Process of Marking Position of Ball

Q. A player marked the position of his ball with a coin, lifted the ball and pressed down the coin with the sole of his putter. He walked to the edge of the green and then noticed that the coin had stuck to the sole of the putter. What is the ruling?

A. In this case, the movement of the ball-marker was directly attributable to the specific act of marking the position of the ball.

Accordingly, no penalty is incurred and the ball or the ball-marker must be replaced. If the spot where the ball or ball-marker lay is not known, it must be placed as near as possible to where it lay but not nearer the hole (Rule 20-3c).




Also .....

16-1. General
a. Touching Line of Putt

The line of putt must not be touched except:

(v) in pressing down a ball-marker;
 
Last edited:
To me this wording could be interpreted one of 2 ways. A player could try to suggest that tapping the marker down is part of the specific act of marking the position of their ball, where as others will argue that it isn't. If it was to happen in a comp you were playing would you argue it was a one stoke penalty or let it go?

Don't 'interpret' Rules of Golf; simply read them literally - bearing in mind the Definitions and Notes!

Though, in this case, there is a question to ask - which is 'is tapping down a ball marker part of the act of Marking a ball?'. And the Decision confirms that it is.
 
Thanks for the replies. This is where the Golf App on my phone let me down as it doesn't include the decisions. Clear as day when you include that as well.
 
Don't 'interpret' Rules of Golf; simply read them literally - bearing in mind the Definitions and Notes!

Though, in this case, there is a question to ask - which is 'is tapping down a ball marker part of the act of Marking a ball?'. And the Decision confirms that it is.

careful

the decision is worded in a way that has the tapping down as par of the act of marking - if you just walk up to your marker at some subsequent stage and 'tap it down' this is nothing to do with the act of marking!

personally I believe that this concept of 'tapping down a marker' is a habit that players should eradicate from their activities completely - if it's in the way move it, if it isn't then leave it alone!
 
Duncan, 16-1 makes no mention of 'in the act of marking', so surely that would still be ok.

sorry I don't understand

I haven't suggested that tapping down a ball marker with a putter isn't 'OK' - I said that I believe it's an unnecessary action that's best avoided. As a further example I wonder how it would be ruled if you missed the marker and accidentally smoothed your line of putt as a result? You are touching your line of putt as a result of attempting, but failing, to tap down your ball marker...
 
Duncan

See 20-1/6.5

thank you - I had forgotten the implication in that decision.

you have reminded me of the apparent contradiction between that implication and 20-1/5.5 which I've never been comfortable with.

given that 16-1 gives a specific exception relating to this action, maybe 20-1 should widen it's exception clause to include it if that is the intention of the rules?
 
Top