woody69
Journeyman Pro
I've done this once before and I have seen it happen a couple. What would you do in this situation.
You are on the green and you correctly place your marker and lift your ball. You get up and before walking away you give it a tap down with the sole of your putter, but as you lift the putter, probably due to a bit of moisture it lifts your marker and drops down off your spot.
Now rule 20-1 Lifting and Marking states:
If a ball or ball-marker is accidentally moved in the process of lifting the ball under a Rule or marking its position, the ball or ball-marker must be replaced. There is no penalty, provided the movement of the ball or ball-marker is directly attributable to the specific act of marking the position of or lifting the ball. Otherwise, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke under this Rule or Rule 18-2a.
To me this wording could be interpreted one of 2 ways. A player could try to suggest that tapping the marker down is part of the specific act of marking the position of their ball, where as others will argue that it isn't. If it was to happen in a comp you were playing would you argue it was a one stoke penalty or let it go?
You are on the green and you correctly place your marker and lift your ball. You get up and before walking away you give it a tap down with the sole of your putter, but as you lift the putter, probably due to a bit of moisture it lifts your marker and drops down off your spot.
Now rule 20-1 Lifting and Marking states:
If a ball or ball-marker is accidentally moved in the process of lifting the ball under a Rule or marking its position, the ball or ball-marker must be replaced. There is no penalty, provided the movement of the ball or ball-marker is directly attributable to the specific act of marking the position of or lifting the ball. Otherwise, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke under this Rule or Rule 18-2a.
To me this wording could be interpreted one of 2 ways. A player could try to suggest that tapping the marker down is part of the specific act of marking the position of their ball, where as others will argue that it isn't. If it was to happen in a comp you were playing would you argue it was a one stoke penalty or let it go?