Abnormal Ground Condition (GUR) Defined by White line

Thread starter #1

mikejohnchapman

Challenge Tour Pro
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Messages
1,770
Location
Dorset
I was asked a simple question which I couldn't find the answer to in the rules.

If a white line is used to define a GUR area, if the ball touches the line is it in the GUR and hence relief is available?

Can someone please point me to where it covers this in the rules?
 

Colin L

Tour Winner
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
4,992
Location
Edinburgh
Look in the definitions. Under gur it states that the outside edge of the line and the line itself is gur.
.....and 16.1a(1) tells us that there is interference if your ball touches or is in the abnormal course condition. If the ball is overhanging the line but not touching it, free relief is not allowed.
 
Last edited:

salfordlad

Active member
Joined
Dec 16, 2020
Messages
600
.....and 16.1a(1) tells us that there is interference if your ball touches or is in the abnormal course condition. If the ball is overhanging the line but not touching it, free relief is not allowed.
While true that a ball merely overhanging and not touching the edge of a GUR line is not in or on the GUR, there is virtually no chance that relief is unavailable because a club is much bigger than the ball - so the GUR is going to interfere with area of intended swing.
 

Colin L

Tour Winner
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
4,992
Location
Edinburgh
While true that a ball merely overhanging and not touching the edge of a GUR line is not in or on the GUR, there is virtually no chance that relief is unavailable because a club is much bigger than the ball - so the GUR is going to interfere with area of intended swing.
Indeed. In abstract, it's all too easy to respond only to the one thing being asked about and overlook other factors - as illustrated. In practice, as you look at the actual situation as opposed to words on a screen, that doesn't happen. Determining if relief is available from an abnormal course condition is very much a visual matter.
 
Last edited:

nickh

New member
Joined
Aug 16, 2019
Messages
20
Location
Cambs
If the ball touches any part of the line marking GUR, then relief should be taken.

Likewise, free relief should also taken if a ball comes to rest in a bush or tree that is overhanging vertically outside the marked GUR, if the bush 'originates' within the area marked.
 
Top