A very odd stupid mistake

  • Thread starter Thread starter Deleted member 17920
  • Start date Start date
D

Deleted member 17920

Guest
Can anyone help with me with this as I have asked a mate who is an R&A rules official but he hasn't come back to me yet.

I have never seen this amazing feat before but here goes.

Yesterday we had a medal at the 9 hole club I am a member off. Now all went well but checking the scores for one of the prize winners before the end I notice in the score for the 18th hole the marker had actually put his total for the back 9. This was 45 strokes :rolleyes:

He actually had a 5 and would have got 3rd place net :eek:

So I am right in presuming I have to count this as 45 strokes as he signed for his card without checking.

Thanks :thup:
 
So the marker had put 45 in the total box and the 18th hole box?

IIRC from when I got DQ at SAOL they take all the scores added up and the back 9 and front 9 totals don't matter.

Its what all the single holes scores added up comes to that matters. If I have read the situation correct the 45 written down for 18 counts and he is screwed! :eek:

When it happened to me the totals added up to the correct score but when the guy inputted the HOLE scores it came to a total of one more than my actual score. He said I could be DQ for signing for wrong score or they were just gonna leave it with me as they had it. I told him to DQ me :blah:
 
Last edited:
So the marker had put 45 in the total box and the 18th hole box?

IIRC from when I got DQ at SAOL they take all the scores added up and the back 9 and front 9 totals don't matter.

Its what all the single holes scores added up comes to that matters. If I have read the situation correct the 45 written down for 18 counts and he is screwed! :eek:

When it happened to me the totals added up to the correct score but when the guy inputted the scores it came to a total of one more than my actual score. He said I could be DQ for signing for wrong score or they were just gonna leave it with me as they had it. I told him to DQ me :blah:
I think the 45 counts as that's what he signed for as its a higher score than what he had. If he had a 5 then signed for a 4 then he would have been dq'd no question. Its the fact he has missed off the score on the 18th and put the back 9 total in the box is alarming. I know for the card is that as long as 18 holes are filled in correctly its up to the competition committee to add them up correctly. If you got dq'd at St Annes for not adding up correctly then they were wrong, You must have signed for a lower score on one hole. They also should have called you up to ask what you really did have on the hole that was showing a discrepancy.
 
I think the 45 counts as that's what he signed for as its a higher score than what he had. If he had a 5 then signed for a 4 then he would have been dq'd no question. Its the fact he has missed off the score on the 18th and put the back 9 total in the box is alarming. I know for the card is that as long as 18 holes are filled in correctly its up to the competition committee to add them up correctly. If you got dq'd at St Annes for not adding up correctly then they were wrong, You must have signed for a lower score on one hole. They also should have called you up to ask what you really did have on the hole that was showing a discrepancy.

I did. I signed for a net 72 which my front 9 and back 9 totals tallied up to.

He added up the hole by hole score etc and it came to net 73 so I had in theory signed for one less :rofl:

A lesson learned once that will never have to be learned again! Cost me a cut that did :rolleyes:
 
Oh dear - if marker put 45 on his card against his 18th hole - and he then signed it - then it seems to me he is scuppered. He has signed for the wrong score - so a DQ? BTW - Where did the marker of his card put the 5 he scored for his 18th?
 
Oh dear - if he put 45 on the card against his 18th hole - and signed it - then it seems to me he is scuppered. He has signed for the wrong score - so a DQ? Where did the marker of his card put the 5 he scored for his 18th?

You only get DQ if you signed for a score less but seeing as this one will be 40 shots higher it can stand. Not that anybody is going enjoy seeing a nett 112 or something like that next to their name :rofl:
 
You only get DQ if you signed for a score less but seeing as this one will be 40 shots higher it can stand. Not that anybody is going enjoy seeing a nett 112 or something like that next to their name :rofl:
I don't know if I am right doing this but I have offered him the chance of NR his card.
 
Makes ya wonder what the player was thinking , a 5 could have gotten him 3 place nett and he didnt find it strange when added up he had a total of 40 shots more ?
whats worse is the guy marking didnt notice either .. 2 or 3 shots might be understandable but 40 ?


i dont see you have an option but to accept the score registered as it is higher than the one scored ..
 
Individual hole scores are players's responsibility. Adding up the total is the Committee's responsibility. If a score entered for a hole is lower than the actual score, then DQ; if higher, then the higher score counts.

I DQ-ed myself for getting 2 scores round the wrong way once - and would have got 2nd! Checked scores rather more thoroughly after that!
 
Last edited:
Makes ya wonder what the player was thinking , a 5 could have gotten him 3 place nett and he didnt find it strange when added up he had a total of 40 shots more ?
whats worse is the guy marking didnt notice either .. 2 or 3 shots might be understandable but 40 ?


i dont see you have an option but to accept the score registered as it is higher than the one scored ..
That's what I am thinking, I wouldn't mind but this is the third issue in recent weeks and I sent everyone an e mail beforehand.
 
Considering ive been stupid enough to balls up like this I will tell you my thought process at the time.

We both just asked each other total for front 9 and back 9 and they matched so that was that signed it and gave it in and thought nothing of it. Im assuming this is what everybody who makes a balls up like this does the same procedure :D

Never again! :rofl:
 
Considering ive been stupid enough to balls up like this I will tell you my thought process at the time.

We both just asked each other total for front 9 and back 9 and they matched so that was that signed it and gave it in and thought nothing of it. Im assuming this is what everybody who makes a balls up like this does the same procedure :D

Never again! :rofl:
Seen it done recently with points totals for front and back 9 and even the "72 net" yep sign here.

For some reason I have always checked my gross scores for every hole from the card I have marked to the card I am about to sign. I check my name is on the card, Handicap is on the card and 2 signatures before the card is handed in.

I suspect this lot now will as this will be the 4th change in a month and its cost 3 prizes so far. :whistle:

I don't enjoy having to dq people but as I know this lot have been playing for over 10 years its so frustrating such a simple task gets missed. If they were new to the game fair enough.
 
I don't know if I am right doing this but I have offered him the chance of NR his card.

You can't really "offer" the player anything, just follow the rules. He's returned his card, it's signed, add it up and record that as the score. May be 45 on the last but it's just the same as if he'd put 6 instead of 5 under the rules. So what if he gets a high nett score? Yes people will ask, probably have a laugh about it but maybe they too will check more closely in future?

PS I've seen this exact issue before at our club. They mustn't even glance at the card before signing it! Fair enough if you've had a nightmare but if you think you've done a decent score then more than a little careless. I think "stupid mistake" in the title probably sums it up!

PPS Never worry about DQ'ing players. It's always their fault!
 
I know its mentioned several times in this thread and probably over-reading it but just want to check a couple of statements to check if correct...

The player in the opening post would not be DQ'd?
A player cannot DQ themselves?
 
I know its mentioned several times in this thread and probably over-reading it but just want to check a couple of statements to check if correct...

The player in the opening post would not be DQ'd?
A player cannot DQ themselves?

In my case, it was while I was entering the scorecards into the system that I discovered the error, so I was acting as 'The Committee'.:o
 
Last edited:
I know its mentioned several times in this thread and probably over-reading it but just want to check a couple of statements to check if correct...

The player in the opening post would not be DQ'd?
A player cannot DQ themselves?

The player in the OP would not be DQ as he signed for a wrong score but that score was higher than his actual claimed score so it would stand. Had it been lower he would be DQ.

On the second point I would say no but Ive no evidence to back that up :rofl:
 
I did. I signed for a net 72 which my front 9 and back 9 totals tallied up to.

He added up the hole by hole score etc and it came to net 73 so I had in theory signed for one less :rofl:

A lesson learned once that will never have to be learned again! Cost me a cut that did :rolleyes:

I'm confused, what your marker tallies the total score as is irrelevant, it is the individual hole scores that you sign for, not the total, that is the committee's responsibility. Can you explain exactly what you got DQ'd for?

Also, would your handicap still not be adjusted from the scorecard? You were DQ'd from the competition, no the handicap calculation?
 
In the 1968 Masters Roberto de Vicenzo signed for a 4 on the 17th when he'd actually had a 3. Instead of going into a playoff with Bob Goalby he lost it by one shot. As has been previously stated, you sign for a lower score & you're disqualified, sign for a higher one & it counts. This happened a few years ago at the Durham County Championship when Harry Ashby, in contention at the time, signed a card with 35 recorded for hole 18. He didn't finish too high up the field after that.
 
In my case, it was while I was entering the scorecards into the system that I discovered the error, so I was acting as 'The Committee'.:o

LoL I'm gonna assume you had a wee word with yourself and subsequently appeared before a three man disciplinary review panel consisting of Me, Myself & I
 
Top