A practice putt on the hole you just played.......

Val

Ryder Cup Winner
Joined
Dec 31, 2011
Messages
12,427
Location
Central Scotland
Visit site
Can some correct me if I'm wrong, I was under the impression you couldn't have a practice putt on the green of a hole that you have just completed in a strokeplay 18 hole comp. For example, you miss a 4 footer on the left, hole out, then have another go at it.

Rule 7-2 i think suggests you can, can someone confirm?
 
Between the play of two holes a player must not make a practice stroke except that he may practice putting or chipping on or near:
a. the Putting green of the hole last played,


Note 2:
The Committee may, in the conditions of a competition (Rule 33-1), prohibit:
(a) practice on or near the Putting green of the hole last played,
 
Last edited:
Thanks for confirmation gents, first heard of this a number of years ago but to be fair it was a 36 holer which I am certain it is forbidden to do.
 
Thanks for confirmation gents, first heard of this a number of years ago but to be fair it was a 36 holer which I am certain it is forbidden to do.

I've played many 36 hole tournaments and never come across a committee banning a practice putt or chip
 
I've played many 36 hole tournaments and never come across a committee banning a practice putt or chip

This is where there is uncertainty on my part with this rule DV, I've since looked this up a bit more thoroughly and I think it comes from the term not being allowed to practice on the course when comps are in play, eg before a round or between rounds BUT you are allowed to chip or putt during the round on the hole you last played.
 
This is where there is uncertainty on my part with this rule DV, I've since looked this up a bit more thoroughly and I think it comes from the term not being allowed to practice on the course when comps are in play, eg before a round or between rounds BUT you are allowed to chip or putt during the round on the hole you last played.

I think thats it exactly Val, it would make sense not to be allowed 'practice' on the course as you're back out again on the same course same day, however, in reality when you miss a 5 footer and try it again it would be a very hard committee to start penalising or DQ'ing players
 
I think thats it exactly Val, it would make sense not to be allowed 'practice' on the course as you're back out again on the same course same day, however, in reality when you miss a 5 footer and try it again it would be a very hard committee to start penalising or DQ'ing players

Maybe so and this is hypothetical I suppose but bearing in mind thought of practicing on the course, if this was indeed in the rules of golf then there is no debate and not hard to administer. ITs not the case anyway so nothing to worry about

The reason I posed the question was in our 3 ball in the medal on Saturday 1 player was stopped form doing it by another due to the "no practice on the course" ruling, I agreed he couldn't but had a nagging doubt hence the question. The other 2 players in my 3 ball were a 3 and 5 HC.
 
Top