chrisd
Major Champion
I played in a 4bbb match the other day and just want to check that we didn't miss any rules for what happened
It was a short par 3 with a hugely steep incline to one side that was full of vegitation. I hit my ball in that direction and generally balls are lost up there but occasionally they roll down to green level.
When we got to the green I saw a ball some distance up the bank but couldn't identify it. My playing partner managed to recover it with his ball retriever and it was my ball. I said that I could take a drop on the bottom of the banking but knowing that the ball would roll some extra club lengths away and then I'd be obliged to place it on the banking, which, in fact I did and miraculously it stayed there.
I then perched on the steep incline, chipped and the ball hit the pin and stopped pretty dead and was unlucky not to go in. Our opponents putted in to win the hole at that point, but said, that had my ball gone in for a half, or win, they would have claimed the hole as my playing partner can't collect my ball and also he didn't mark its original position (although all 4 of us knew exactly where it was and it wouldn't have been possible to reach where it was by hand) but other than that we had proceeded correctly with the drops etc
Any views?
It was a short par 3 with a hugely steep incline to one side that was full of vegitation. I hit my ball in that direction and generally balls are lost up there but occasionally they roll down to green level.
When we got to the green I saw a ball some distance up the bank but couldn't identify it. My playing partner managed to recover it with his ball retriever and it was my ball. I said that I could take a drop on the bottom of the banking but knowing that the ball would roll some extra club lengths away and then I'd be obliged to place it on the banking, which, in fact I did and miraculously it stayed there.
I then perched on the steep incline, chipped and the ball hit the pin and stopped pretty dead and was unlucky not to go in. Our opponents putted in to win the hole at that point, but said, that had my ball gone in for a half, or win, they would have claimed the hole as my playing partner can't collect my ball and also he didn't mark its original position (although all 4 of us knew exactly where it was and it wouldn't have been possible to reach where it was by hand) but other than that we had proceeded correctly with the drops etc
Any views?