2 questions - bunker and teeing ground...

AmandaJR

Money List Winner
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
14,128
Location
Cambs
Visit site
Ok. Played on Thursday with a player with limited vision. She manages really well so long as you ball spot for her but her depth perception is poor so stepping into a bunker is difficult and she uses the rake as a support. Strictly speaking is this allowed?

Yesterday I had a singles match and had just taken a provisional off the tee having possibly found the trees (don't know the course). My opponent stepped up to the tee and I noticed before she hit her shot that she was outside of the teeing ground. I confess to fleetingly considering not telling her (oops!!) but did so and she moved her ball. Am I right in thinking the option in matchplay is to re-take the shot rather than a penalty??

My good sportsmanship was not reciprocated later on (long story) but hey ho I can sleep well at night :-)
 
Essentially, yes to both, Amanda. But to be clear, the option in match play if you play your teeshot outside the teeing ground is for the opponent to accept the stroke or ask for the shot to be taken again.
 
sleeping at night is by far the best option IMO too - any pleasure at being able to ask an opponent to replay his best ever drive is short lived and carries a long guilt line for me :)

personally I tend to just let the odd inch go, unless the player if clearly pursuing the extremes of the teeing area in which case I would do as you did. had similar on the last hole of a league match when an opponent 'straightened' the tee marker - problem there was to say anything meant applying a penalty so I just kept quiet until the match was over.
 
Thanks guys. She was outside as in the wrong side of the tee markers so wouldn't have gained although obviously preferred the line from where she was :-)

I won the hole from the trees!
 
Ok. Played on Thursday with a player with limited vision. She manages really well so long as you ball spot for her but her depth perception is poor so stepping into a bunker is difficult and she uses the rake as a support. Strictly speaking is this allowed?

Yes it is.
Extract from Exception to rule 13-4

Provided nothing is done that constitutes testing the condition of the hazardor improves the lie of the ball, there is no penalty if the player touches the ground ......... to prevent falling,
 
Top