150 yard stick in line of ball path

ShankyBoy

Assistant Pro
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
179
Visit site
My ball landed about 1 m behind the 150yrd marker, and whilst the marker wasn't in the way of me swinging the club, I didn't love the idea of a ball bouncing back at 100 mph if it hit it, so I played to the left.

Was this the correct thing to do, or would I have got relief from it?
 
Last edited:
My ball landed about 1 m behind the 150yrd marker, and whilst the marker wasn't in the way of me swinging the club, I didn't love the idea of a ball bouncing back at 100 mph if it hit it, so I played to the left.

Was this the correct thing to do, or would I have got relief from it?

same as if it was a 150yd marker post positioned in the rough - can be taken out and replaced afgter shot played. If post is fixed you should get relief I'd have thought - as if it were a stake for a staked tree. But that is not ruled based advise - the rules experts will confirm or rebutt my thoughts :)
 
same as if it was a 150yd marker post positioned in the rough - can be taken out and replaced afgter shot played. If post is fixed you should get relief I'd have thought - as if it were a stake for a staked tree. But that is not ruled based advise - the rules experts will confirm or rebutt my thoughts :)

Not necessarily so. All our posts - including 150 yard markers - are deemed Immovable Obstructions even though they are capable of being removed. The OP said that his swing was not affected so. if they are fixed or deemed IOs, then there is no relief for line of sight.
 
From the R&A definitions.

An “obstruction’’ is anything artificial, except:

a. Objects defining out of bounds, such as walls, fences, stakes and railings;

b. Any part of an immovable artificial object that is out of bounds; and

c. Any construction declared by the Committee to be an integral part of the course.

An obstruction is a movable obstruction if it may be moved without unreasonable effort, without unduly delaying play and without causing damage. Otherwise, it is an immovable obstruction.
 
I don't know of a local rule or tried taking one out, but they look IO, and I assumed then line of sight/not path meant I couldn't get a drop, with ask the local pro next time I'm up.
 
I don't think your swing has to be impeded by the obstruction to be able to remove it, so I'd say pull it out and replace when you're done.

Not sure about immovable obstructions.

Edit - you don't get line of sight from immovable obstructions, which makes me doubt myself about being able to pull it out if it's moveable.

I should have just kept quiet! :mad:
 
If it's moveable, move it under rule 24-1. If it's not move able, lift & drop under rule 24-2. All artificial structures on the course, with the exception of boundary walls & fences are defined as obstructions. Found answer in a minute using this app
https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&s...pJTKxrP7G-l_abTsg&sig2=-42NEEfuJcrlR9QotiO9fg

33-8/16

Local Rule Deeming All Stakes on Course to Be Immovable Obstructions

Q.It is proposed to adopt a Local Rule providing that all stakes on the course, i.e., stakes defining the margins of water hazards, ground under repair, etc. are deemed to be immovable obstructions. The Local Rule would not, of course, apply to boundary stakes since they are not on the course. Is such a Local Rule permissible?

A.Yes.

It is a LR at ours as players kept removing 150 markers and either not replacing them or replacing nowhere near the original spot.
 
If it's moveable, move it under rule 24-1. If it's not move able, lift & drop under rule 24-2. All artificial structures on the course, with the exception of boundary walls & fences are defined as obstructions. Found answer in a minute using this app

As can be seen from various comments, the OP could not do that as there was no interference to his stance or area of intended swing Does the app make it clear that there has to be before relief can be taken? Otherwise, it would be a bit misleading.
 
Just give it a pull to see if it comes out easily, if so take out, play and then replace.

Our course has four line of sight steel poles in the middle of various fairways that are placed in a steel liner in the ground to make them easier to lift out if they're impeding your line.
Mind you they're so heavy that you can do yourself a mischief lifting them out if you're not careful.
 
I hit my drive in exactly the same spot tonight, so I tried to pick it up, and it was going nowhere. Oh well, must aim a bot more left it seems!
 
Just give it a pull to see if it comes out easily, if so take out, play and then replace.

Our course has four line of sight steel poles in the middle of various fairways that are placed in a steel liner in the ground to make them easier to lift out if they're impeding your line.
Mind you they're so heavy that you can do yourself a mischief lifting them out if you're not careful.
I once hit a direction post absolutely square on with my drive and my ball rebounded about 60 yards back towards me! I had to play my ball as it lay. :(
 
I once hit a direction post absolutely square on with my drive and my ball rebounded about 60 yards back towards me! I had to play my ball as it lay. :(
So if that ball finished in the jungle and you decided to play a provisional, when does the provisional become the ball in play?
 
So if that ball finished in the jungle and you decided to play a provisional, when does the provisional become the ball in play?
That rather depends on how far I hit the provisional ball! It becomes in play either if the original ball is lost or OOB, or I play a shot with it from closer to the hole than where the original ball is likely to be. Neither applied in this case, as my ball was on the fairway, but about 120 yards shorter than it should have been!
 
Top