Search results

  1. S

    Unplayable ball in hedge next to massively sloping fairway

    I am sorry - and probably equally as frustrated as you, Bob - that I and others haven't been able to help you. This is a Rules forum and it is the Rules that tell us how to get our way around the golf course. Nevertheless I tried to avoid getting too bogged down with explaining or quoting the...
  2. S

    Unplayable ball in hedge next to massively sloping fairway

    A great way to provide reassurance that the ball has been dropped in the right place is to mark (a) the original spot of the ball (and/or leave the ball in place for as long as possible) and (b) the reference point and (c) the extent of the relief area. (But there is no requirement under the...
  3. S

    Unplayable ball in hedge next to massively sloping fairway

    Awww, come on Bob. Don't be like that. Be a good sport and tell us your theory. Who knows...it may cause us to reflect and look at a particular rule or rules from a different perspective. We weren't to know which rules you did and didn't know. In fairness to all of us, in post #34 you did...
  4. S

    Hitting a Stake ?

    That local rule is not uncommon. Model Local Rule E-11.
  5. S

    Hitting a Stake ?

    I have never heard of such a local rule. There is a model local rule (E-11) available to committees for a ball that deflects off overhead power lines or supporting poles etc - but not for deflecting off a penalty area stake. It seems like an odd thing for your playing partner to say. In the...
  6. S

    Unplayable ball in hedge next to massively sloping fairway

    Countless people on these threads in the past have suggested that, while not required under the rules, it is good practice not to lift your ball until you are clear on what action you are going to take and where you are going to drop the ball - just to avoid potential "lifter's remorse"...
  7. S

    Unplayable ball in hedge next to massively sloping fairway

    As long as you haven't played a stroke at the ball that has rolled back under the hedge after taking your penalty drop, you can go back to where the ball was last played to take stroke and distance relief. Interpretation 19.2/3 Stroke-and-Distance Reference Point Does Not Change Until Stroke Is...
  8. S

    Playing the wrong ball.

    Yes.
  9. S

    Playing the wrong ball.

    Rule 9.6. The ball (or another ball) must be replaced on its original spot (which if not known must be estimated).
  10. S

    DQ Late teeing off

    You must be at the tee ready to start at your designated start time. It is not sufficient that you are not holding up the group behind. Rule 5.3a The player must start at (and not before) his or her starting time: *This means that the player must be ready to play at the starting time and...
  11. S

    Dropping off a path

    That's what I would argue too. (In fact, I did state DQ.) As the incident took place on the 18th hole, the error must be corrected before returning the scorecard.
  12. S

    Dropping off a path

    5ft from the back of the path. Let’s add, say, another 2ft to make sure your stance wouldn't be on the path. That would make it 7ft. Let's round up a bit (just to be safe for the purposes of this exercise) and say that that you had 2.5 to 3 yards to find complete relief in that direction...
  13. S

    How to legally test a bunker?

    Not uppermost in my thoughts when I originally posted #63 but, of course, if the ball is embedded in the general area in an abnormal course condition (i e. an immovable obstruction in this case [assuming the bunker face is not an integral object]) the player has the option of taking relief under...
  14. S

    How to legally test a bunker?

    ....or unless the spot right behind the embedded ball (the reference point) is in the bunker, and within one club-length of and not nearer the hole from that reference point there is no part of the relief area that is in the general area. In such situation the player would need to take...
  15. S

    Alignment

    Alignment rod not permitted to be used in this way. Rule 4.3a Allowed and Prohibited Uses of Equipment A player may use equipment to help his or her play during a round, except that a player must not create a potential advantage by: *Using equipment (other than a club or a ball) that...
  16. S

    Written reminder on putter cover

    ....but they are illegal, people, so if you see one don't buy it. The clubhead must have only one striking face. (Not applicable to putters as stated above.)
  17. S

    Alignment

    Rule 10.2b(3) does not allow a player to set down an object (such as an alignment rod or a golf club) to help the player take a stance but there is nothing prohibiting using a club as described here.
  18. S

    DQ Late teeing off

    In my opinion - and I'm very open to different views from others - it should/could be covered in the terms of the competition or even more broadly than that in broader club policies. For some competitions it will be appropriate for the committee to allocate starting times. For other competitions...
  19. S

    DQ Late teeing off

    Yes - must. 20.2d When Wrong Rulings Will Be Corrected If a ruling by a referee or the Committee is later found to be wrong: *The ruling will be corrected if possible under the Rules. *If it is too late to do so, the wrong ruling stands.
  20. S

    DQ Late teeing off

    1. Yes. Rule 20 2d 2. Pt 1. No. Changing the penalty would be an unauthorised local rule. See Rule 1.3c(3) and Committee Procedures 8L. 2. Pt 2. Possibly. Committee Procedures 5F(2) opens the way for players to set their own start times. 5F(2) Starting Times and Playing Groups The Committee...
Top