I think you are misunderstanding this a bit. Course Rating is the measure on which your handicap is based, not the par of a course. Your handicap index is calculated from the difference between your gross score (adjusted to a maximum of a net double bogey on any hole) and the course rating...
That's really helpful to know, especially as I have a couple of assigned matchplay jobs in August.
The bunker example came to mind with the recollection of a pair who called me in during our Championship week because they weren't sure how to deal with their balls lying together in a bunker...
It would be interesting to hear an example of of what you proposed that wasn't a time saver.
And no sooner written than I thought of two balls in a bunker and the player nearer the hole playing first to avoid his ball getting covered in sand by the the further one being played first -...
I'd agree that "the 12th fairway" is too imprecise to be used as a descriptor of OOB. To add to your example, what if your ball ended up on the 12th green? You really need words like on, beyond, over, between and a feature whether natural or something like stakes which provides a clear...
It pays to read through the whole of a Rule. If you had, you would have reached the bit Jim is referring to. It's headed Exception: Playing out of Turn by Agreement to Save Time. But you wouldn't have gone wrong by abiding by that first part.
I have a distant but possibly erroneous memory that preferred lies were in place for a round of an Open Championship one year because of heavy rains. Can anyone confirm either that I'm right or have an overly fanciful historical imagination?
You are allowed to practise chipping and putting between two holes on or near the green of the hole you've just played or the teeing area of the next hole [Rule 5.5b]
There may, however, be a Local Rule in place prohibiting this which you would need to watch out for.
Essentially, he picked up a stray ball and put it into play when taking relief from the PA which is no different from his picking a ball out of his bag and putting it into play.
I'm not sure where Steven is coming from in citing 1.2a.
You may, indeed should play a provisional any time you have any doubt about finding your ball outside a penalty area. That doubt is all you need to validate it, the possibility of your ball being in a PA being irrelevant.
No worms in that can. From where you are at the time of playing the ball you might reasonably think that it might be lost outside the PA but find when in the area of the PA that the circumstances are such that you can have KVC that your ball is in it.
Another player can require him to move it. 15.3c is very clear (my emphasis):
If a ball-marker might help or interfere with play, a player may:
Move the ball-marker out of the way if it is his or her own, or
If the ball-marker belongs to another player, require that player to move the...
Yes, but no penalty if the stroke is cancelled and replayed as it should be. Ian, however, did not do so and would have incurred a penalty for playing from a wrong place with his 3rd shot. He scored 5 but if, as one would expect, the competition is closed, the 3 stands.