• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Recent content by Troymcclure

  1. T

    Machine Precision

    So before this came in (last year?) a particular HI might yield a CH of say 14 resulting in a PH of 13 and we learnt to hole out for a double for 0 Stableford points on Index 14 for handicap purposes. Does machine precision change that behaviour? That exact same Index could yield a PH of 13 OR...
  2. T

    Keeping 2 balls away from 3/4 balls

    Ah, didn’t read properly. You’re talking about bookings. Yes wouldn’t work I don’t think. It works well at Rollup courses. How ever many turn up you walk to the appropriate tee
  3. T

    Keeping 2 balls away from 3/4 balls

    I assume only Clubs with 1st and 10th close by do it?
  4. T

    Refusal to mark and lift ball

    Yes that’s a great point. If I ask from 100 yards away I’m the idiot, not the refuser. And “somewhere” in-between is the grey area. I now see why Commitee might need to be involved 👍
  5. T

    Refusal to mark and lift ball

    And what if it’s 10 yards rather than 2 millimetres. I want to putt, not chip and consider it might be on my line. I’m wrong because I’ve completely misread the putt but I ask anyway as allowed and am refused. My point is, should the Rules not decree a deliberate and knowing refusal to adhere...
  6. T

    Refusal to mark and lift ball

    Indeed, and salfordlad informs us that repeated refusal is a serious breach. Why does it need to be repeated? Housery is housery.
  7. T

    Refusal to mark and lift ball

    I’ve re-read 15.3b and see nothing that could warrant Committee involvement. Or is the word “require” rather than “ask” in the sentence “The player may require the other player to mark the spot…” significant?
  8. T

    Refusal to mark and lift ball

    Fellow competitor’s ball is millimetres in front of mine, just off the green, directly in line. I ask him to mark it. He says he knows it’s permitted within the rules but refuses. I don’t see why that shouldn’t be a DQ but no replies means I’m probably alone so I’ll ask instead opinions on how...
  9. T

    Refusal to mark and lift ball

    Why is the Rule not DQ?
  10. T

    Relief from path ruling

    He could, but unusual I would think for that to be a better option than playing as it lies, or 2 club-length un-playable.
  11. T

    Snail ruling…

    A pro would just wait for it to move away of its own volition. He’d be halfway home by the time our man has decided what club to hit
  12. T

    Snail ruling…

    Before this thread I’d have marked my ball, re-located Sammy somewhere safe and played on. Now i know the Rule I’d take the penalty drop and feel very hard done by. If a FC had the same situation and hit their ball I’d judge them morally. But if they said to me it’s a bit unfair having to...
  13. T

    Use of Slope during Match

    If the conversation had not been heard but the slope setting switch position had been observed, breach or no breach i.e. is the Rule to use the info or have the info available?
  14. T

    Snail ruling…

    In a comp?
  15. T

    Permission to take Free Relief

    Reading a debate elsewhere on whether the Rules Officials were correct in denying Sam Burns casual water relief, someone asked the question why he called for a referee and didn’t just make the decision himself. Now in the circumstances he’d have been foolish (and it turns out in breach!!) had...
Top