• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Recent content by rulefan

  1. R

    TV Series - What Are You Watching?

    As I have been informed that The Night Manager S1 is a TV series (Prime), I can report that is was brilliant.
  2. R

    Films

    And it was brilliant.
  3. R

    GUR bunker, ball embedded on face, local rule in place.

    The area above the sand as it is now in the area of GUR. The OP said relief was not allowed but the nature of the ground suggests it it could be a mess after the winter.
  4. R

    GUR bunker, ball embedded on face, local rule in place.

    If they still need protecting shouldn't they be NPZs? O/w players with a nice lie and stance will be taking divots out of the turf.
  5. R

    GUR bunker, ball embedded on face, local rule in place.

    Did the comp sec confirm the areas or are not part of the General Area?
  6. R

    GUR bunker, ball embedded on face, local rule in place.

    "When a bunker is being repaired and the Committee defines the entire bunker as ground under repair, it is treated as part of the general area (which means it is not a bunker)." Although I'm not sure how hard and fast the bold words are in practice.
  7. R

    GUR bunker, ball embedded on face, local rule in place.

    Only if the Committee have defined it as such
  8. R

    GUR bunker, ball embedded on face, local rule in place.

    GUR is simply an Abnormal Course Condition. It is not a Defined Area of the Course. Bunkers are.
  9. R

    Films

    Not sure if this should be in Films or TV series but am a few parts through series 1 of The Night Manager (Prime). Very promising so far.
  10. R

    Bunker flooded - Relief?

    Really?
  11. R

    Bunker flooded - Relief?

    Post 2 only needs one sentence The ball is in the bunker, so follow the rules for abnormal course conditions for the ball in the bunker (Rule 16.1c) regardless of where the stance is.
  12. R

    Bunker flooded - Relief?

    Sincere apologies. It was Swinglowandslow who introduced it.
  13. R

    Bunker flooded - Relief?

    It was more confusing than interesting. SILH obviously didn't read Rule 16 (which included a reference to Rule 17) and made matters worse by referring to 'water hazards'.
  14. R

    Bunker flooded - Relief?

    Why confuse things by using old terminology. A Penalty Area involves a penalty. As I said above, it is all about the position of the ball. 16,1a(2) says (If) The ball is anywhere on the course, except in a penalty area (where the player’s only relief is under Rule 17).
Top