Thanks Rulie. The penalty is clear, but the question is, what ball must replace the player in order to end hole: Original according 6.3b1/14.2a or Substitute according to 6.3b2/6.3b3?
14.2a
Original Ball Must Be Used
The original ball must be used when replacing a ball.
Exception – Another Ball May Be Used When:
The original ball cannot be recovered with reasonable effort and in a few seconds, so long as the player did not deliberately cause the ball to become unrecoverable...
This is the problem. Rule 6.3b1 guides you to Rule 14 and it says you need to play Original Ball not Substitute ball.
2 different rules say just opposite reasons and 2 differents ways to continue playing.
Then what have to do the player, end the hole using Original or Substituted ball?
A player arrives to the green when his ball stand there.
He squats down, mark his ball and leaves the green. When is his turn, he puts his hand in his pocket and catches a wrong ball.
Places the wrong ball in the correct place and make a putt.
What rulling applies here? Does he have to continue...