Colin L's latest activity

  • Colin L
    Colin L replied to the thread 95% allowance..
    Since SSS was and CR is a measure of what a scratch player would take to go round a measured course, you should expect them to be same...
  • Colin L
    Colin L replied to the thread 95% allowance..
    I think you are misunderstanding this a bit. Course Rating is the measure on which your handicap is based, not the par of a course...
  • Colin L
    Colin L replied to the thread Matchplay-playing out of turn.
    That's really helpful to know, especially as I have a couple of assigned matchplay jobs in August. The bunker example came to mind...
  • Colin L
    Colin L replied to the thread Matchplay-playing out of turn.
    It would be interesting to hear an example of of what you proposed that wasn't a time saver. And no sooner written than I thought of...
  • Colin L
    .... and a few glasses of the red stuff, I hope.
  • Colin L
    Colin L replied to the thread Unmarked OOB.
    I'd agree that "the 12th fairway" is too imprecise to be used as a descriptor of OOB. To add to your example, what if your ball ended...
  • Colin L
    Colin L replied to the thread Matchplay-playing out of turn.
    It pays to read through the whole of a Rule. If you had, you would have reached the bit Jim is referring to. It's headed Exception...
  • Colin L
    Colin L replied to the thread Preferred Lies.
    The 2012 Open and the possibility would be what was in the dark recesses of my memory and Royal Lytham chimed as well Thanks for that -...
  • Colin L
    Colin L posted the thread Preferred Lies in Rules of Golf.
    I have a distant but possibly erroneous memory that preferred lies were in place for a round of an Open Championship one year because of...
  • Colin L
    Colin L replied to the thread Practicing on the course…..
    You are allowed to practise chipping and putting between two holes on or near the green of the hole you've just played or the teeing...
  • Colin L
    Now I feel bad. 😢 But, as with a certain Mr Bennett, it'll pass, and no doubt more quickly than it should. 😁
  • Colin L
    Essentially, he picked up a stray ball and put it into play when taking relief from the PA which is no different from his picking a ball...
  • Colin L
    You may, indeed should play a provisional any time you have any doubt about finding your ball outside a penalty area. That doubt is all...
  • Colin L
    No worms in that can. From where you are at the time of playing the ball you might reasonably think that it might be lost outside the...
  • Colin L
    No, but that's a different question to the previous one. By now you've been given more than enough information about the rule to be...
Top